LITSEN UP: Mercury Prize Short List


Now in its 23rd year, the Barclaycard Mercury Prize has an exceptional track record of rewarding the uncompromising and innovative talents releasing UK albums. This year’s shortlisted finalists represent the range of styles and genres populating the airways, but also the names pushing the form forward.

Previous winners have included Alt-J (last years winners), PJ Harvey, the xx, Suede, Arctic Monkeys, Klaxons and Franz Ferdinand.

This years winner will be announced at an awards ceremony at the Roundhouse on October 30, where they will also be awarded a £20,000.

Arctic Monkeys AM

David Bowie The Next Day

Disclosure Settle

Foals Holy Fire

Jake Bugg Jake Bugg

James Blake Overgrown

Jon Hopkins Immunity

Laura Marling Once I Was An Eagle

Laura Mvula Sing To The Moon

Rudimental Home

Savages Silence Yourself

Villagers Awayland